Mysteries Podcast: Chapter C - Sébastien Robert | Space in the Sun

Mysteries of the Deep, Chapter C. Space in the Sun by Sébastien Robert. Cover photo courtesy of Candace Price.

Akio Suzuki constructed the Hinatabokko no kukan (Space in the Sun) in 1988. This space consists of two huge parallel walls, in between which the artist can sit all day and purify his hearing by listening to the reflected sounds of nature. This space leads the artist to discover a new method of listening. Suzuki himself comments, "Sound, which had been conceptually imprisoned in various spaces, is freed to circle the world."

1. Af Ursin - De Tweede Persoon 
2. Taj Mahal Travellers - August 1974 (I)
3. Adham Shaikh and Tim Floyd ‎- Estuary
4. Coil - The Mothership & The Fatherland 
5. Waveform Transmission - V 2.0-2.1
6. Zoviet France - Ascend A Fall
7. Tomaga - The Whitest Light 
8. Akio Suzuki & Aki Onda - Do Ko Ka Ra 
9. Ligovskoï - Thessalonians 
10. Andrea Belfi - Syncline 
11. Ultrafog - Trace
12. Matthias Puech - Un incontro notturno
13. Basses Terres - Unreleased
14. Pariah - Pith
15. Tim Hecker - In Mother Earth Phase 
16. Terre Thaemlitz - Subjective Loss, Day 83
17. Matthias Puech - Sculpté au fond de la fontaine, un visage d’enfant
18. Material Object - Earlier Reflections (E. Honda Remix)
19. Basses Terres - Unreleased
20. Exael - Bundle


podcastJames Aaron